Who will defend Florida science education?

houseWe’re facing an uphill battle as we fight against the Instructional Materials bills in the Florida legislature. We know these bills, if they become law, will almost guarantee a future fight over evolution and climate change in our classroom textbooks. It’s not just conjecture. We have unambiguous evidence.

The House version sailed through its first two committee stops on 14 to 0 and 12 to 2 votes. It’s frustrating to watch this bill go largely unchallenged and to know our valid arguments are being ignored.

But now is not the time to give up. We need to get louder. And now is your chance.

The House Education committee, the last stop before the bill moves to the full House, is going to consider the bill Thursday at 8 a.m. Call the committee members. Email them. Visit them. Make sure they hear your opposition to this horrible bill. Let them know that:

Here’s the committee member list. How many of them will commit to supporting science education?

Bileca, Michael [R] michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5115
Cortes, Robert “Bob” [R] Bob.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5030
Jones, Shevrin D. “Shev” [D] Shevrin.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov(850) 717-5101
Ahern, Larry [R] larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5066
Antone, Bruce [D] bruce.antone@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5046
Asencio, Robert [D] Robert.Asencio@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5118
Brown, Kamia L. [D] Kamia.Brown@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5045
Diaz, Jr., Manny [R] Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5103
Donalds, Byron [R] Byron.Donalds@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5080
Latvala, Chris [R] Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5067
Lee, Jr., Larry [D] Larry.Lee@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5084
Plasencia, Rene “Coach P” [R] Rene.Plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5050
Ponder, Mel [R] mel.ponder@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5004
Porter, Elizabeth W. [R] elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5010
Raburn, Jake [R] Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5057
Russell, Barrington A. “Barry” [D] Barrington.Russell@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5095
Stone, Charlie [R] Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5022
Sullivan, Jennifer Mae [R] Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov (850) 717-5031

Leave a Reply